The Modkat Flip costs $99.99. The Frisco Top Entry Cat Litter Box (XL, 23-inch) costs $30.99 at Chewy. For that $69 gap you get a magnetic three-position lid, a reusable tarp liner and charcoal odor filters, and you give up the top entry, because the Flip is a front-entry box.
That mismatch catches a lot of people searching for a Modkat vs Frisco top entry litter box. Modkat also sells a true top-entry model (the original Modkat, $109.99, sized for cats up to 12 lbs), so this guide sets both Modkat boxes against the Frisco and against the Amazon Basics top entry box. We cover price, size, lid design, liners, odor control and which cats each one suits. If you haven’t settled on an entry style yet, read our guide to top-entry vs front-entry litter boxes first.
Specs and prices were checked on September 21, 2026 against Modkat.com, Chewy and Amazon. They change, so confirm the current price before you buy. Some links on this page are affiliate links. We may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you.
Modkat vs Frisco Top Entry Litter Box: Specs, Price and Verdict
⚡ Quick Verdict
The Modkat Flip is our overall pick. It scoops faster, holds in spray and litter better, and looks like furniture. It also costs about three times what the Frisco does and isn’t a top-entry box. If litter scatter is your only problem, the Frisco Top Entry XL at $30.99 is the better buy, especially for a cat over 12 lbs. The Amazon Basics box is a fine spare or first try. Skip all three if your cat is a stiff-jointed senior.
The Four Litter Boxes at a Glance
Two naming points first. The Modkat Flip has a front entry: your cat steps in over a 6.75-inch lip, and the lid flips open on top for scooping. Modkat’s top-entry box is a separate model, and it’s the fairer match for the Frisco.
| Litter Box | Entry | Outside Size (in) | Price | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Modkat Flip | Front, flip lid | 20.5 x 15.75 x 16.8 | $99.99 | Easy scooping, high-peeing cats, visible spots |
| Modkat (top-entry) | Top, swivel lid | 16 x 16 x 15 | $109.99 | Cats up to 12 lbs, tight spaces |
| Frisco Top Entry XL | Top, swivel lid | 23.2 x 15.4 x 15 | $30.99 | Diggers, bigger cats, small budgets |
| Amazon Basics Top Entry | Top, removable lid | 20.5 x 14.75 x 14.38 | Check Amazon | Spare box, first top-entry trial |
Prices from Modkat.com and Chewy on September 21, 2026. I couldn’t confirm a current Amazon Basics price, so check the listing.
Analysis: Modkat Flip Covered Litter Box

Built for people who want a litter box that’s easy to live with and easy to look at. If you scoop daily, keep the box in a bathroom or living area, and don’t mind paying extra for liners and filters, the Flip is aimed at you.
The Flip is a covered, front-entry box with a tall one-piece base, which Modkat calls seamless. There are no corner joints for urine to find, and the walls are high enough for cats that dig hard or pee upward. The entry is 8.25 x 9.5 inches and sits 6.75 inches off the floor, so most cats walk in instead of jumping. The box weighs 7 lbs and measures 20.5 x 15.75 x 16.8 inches.
The lid is the reason to buy it. It’s magnetic and has three positions: closed for privacy, half open for daily scooping, fully open (or off) for litter changes. It holds up to 24 lbs, so a cat can sit on top. The Type F liner clips onto the lid pillars with Modkat’s patented TabFit tabs, so there are no separate hooks to lose. Modkat lists each liner at up to three months.
Build Quality & Design
Owners with high-peeing cats mention the wall height more than anything else. One says an adolescent male that used to find the seams in three other boxes finally stopped leaking with this one. The build isn’t flawless, though. A three-cat owner reported a front lid section that sat crooked, and Modkat’s reply pointed to an uneven floor throwing off lid alignment. Level the spot before you set it up. Retailer listings give the material as polypropylene.
Performance & Speed
Daily scooping is where the Flip earns its price. Open the lid halfway, scoop, let it close. One owner says scooping from the top beats scooping through a side opening and scatters less litter. The tall base and front step hold back most kicked litter, but some still escapes, and Modkat’s own advice is to add a litter mat. Its Katch mat is $24.99.
Features & Functionality
The box ships with a Type F reusable liner, a hanging scoop, a charcoal filter holder and two charcoal odor filters. A front pull tab locks the liner under the step, which helps keep litter from slipping between liner and base. Modkat lists 2-pack odor filter refills at $11.99. The three lid positions matter more than they sound. One owner started with the lid off, then moved to half open. Another keeps it half open because their cat feels cramped with the lid closed.
User Experience
Owners describe cats taking to it fast. Size is the recurring complaint. Modkat’s own review summary says some owners wanted it slightly larger for big cats, and one reviewer returned it because an extra-large shorthair couldn’t turn around. Another owner with a 16 lb cat says it’s as wide as their old extra-large boxes. Measure your cat before you decide (see the checklist below).
Value for Money
The box is $99.99, and liners are the running cost. A 3-pack of Type F liners is $29.99, about $10 each. Replace one every three months and that’s roughly $40 a year. You can skip liners, since Modkat says the Flip works without one, but the liner is a big part of why cleanup is quick. Modkat also sells disposable paperboard liners, six for $24.99, each good for about a month.
✅ Advantages
❌ Disadvantages
Analysis: Amazon Basics Top Entry Box

A first top-entry box, a spare for a guest room, or a second box in a small home. It does one job, keeping litter from scattering, and doesn’t try for more.
The Amazon Basics box measures 20.5 x 14.75 x 14.38 inches. Your cat drops in through an opening in the lid and leaves the same way, so most kicked litter lands on the lid or slides back in. Amazon’s listing describes BPA-free, recyclable plastic, a removable top, an onboard scoop and a filtered lid. For more on how this style compares with other designs, see our covered litter box with top entry guide.
Build Quality & Design
This is molded plastic in a plain grey finish. It’s light and easy to move, which suits a laundry room or a spare bathroom. Expect it to scuff with use. The listing I checked doesn’t give a lid weight limit, so don’t count on it as a perch for a heavy cat.
Performance & Speed
The top entry does the containment work. Scooping costs you a step, because the top is removable rather than hinged: lift it off, scoop, set it somewhere, put it back. That’s fine once a day. It gets old by month three.
Features & Functionality
A matching scoop comes with the box and hangs on the side. Amazon’s listing also mentions a filtered lid, but it doesn’t say what the filter is or whether replacements are sold, so check before you count on it for odor control. There’s no liner system.
User Experience
Setup takes a minute: no liner to fit, no hardware. One Amazon reviewer who owns both this box and an IRIS top-entry box says the two look nearly identical apart from price and color, that their cat took to both, and that this box’s scoop has holes too wide, so small clumps slip through. Their fix was a finer scoop, which hangs on the box’s hook without trouble.
Value for Money
You get a top-entry box and a scoop, and nothing to restock but litter. Amazon prices move, so check the current number against the Frisco’s $30.99 before you click.
✅ Advantages
❌ Disadvantages
Analysis: Frisco Top Entry Cat Litter Box (XL, 23-inch)
Chewy’s house-brand top-entry box, sized for cats that need room. It costs about a third of the Flip and it’s the longest of the four.
The Frisco Top Entry XL is a gray or black plastic box measuring 23.2 x 15.4 x 15 inches, with a top opening of 8.66 x 9.68 inches. A swivel lid on hinges lifts for scooping, and Chewy says litter left on the lid slides back into the box as you raise it. The lid holds up to 33 lbs, and its textured surface is meant to knock litter off paws as your cat climbs out.
Chewy lists it as made in the USA from BPA-free, recyclable plastic. Liners are not included and not required. The listing doesn’t mention a scoop or a filter, so plan on buying a scoop. It carries 4.3 out of 5 stars from 1,640 ratings on Chewy as of September 2026, with 73% giving five stars and 8% giving one.
Build Quality & Design
Lid support is the complaint that repeats. Three Chewy reviewers with heavy cats disagree with each other. One says the lid latches firmly and holds a very heavy cat if you clip it properly. Two describe the sides bowing outward under heavy cats on the lid (one household has 16 and 20 lb cats), which can let the lid slip off its rest edge with only a small plastic clip holding it. Chewy’s Q&A lists the interior base at 18.5 x 10.5 inches with 14.5 inches of height.
Performance & Speed
Owners of diggers report the biggest drop in floor litter. One with a digging kitten says the crunch underfoot stopped within two weeks. Another says two younger cats took to it at once while a 4-year-old refused. Some adult cats simply won’t use a top-entry box, and no spec sheet predicts which.
Features & Functionality
Chewy says the wide top opening helps keep dogs out, and the tall enclosed sides contain spray for cats that dig and spray. Assembly is a lid you hinge in: line the lid up vertically with the half-circle hinges facing down, push them into the sockets, fold it closed. Clean it with warm soapy water, and wipe between washes.
User Experience
It’s a simple box. There’s no liner to fit and no magnet to line up, and owners praise the swivel lid for cleanup. One reviewer with a 19-year-old cat cut a low side opening into it and blocked the top hole, a DIY fix for the jump that older cats struggle with.
Value for Money
At $30.99 in gray or black, there’s no liner subscription to pay for, and Chewy lists free 365-day returns. That return window matters with any top-entry box, since a cat that refuses it is the biggest risk.
✅ Advantages
❌ Disadvantages
Modkat Top-Entry vs Frisco Top-Entry: Head to Head
For a true top-entry matchup, put the original Modkat against the Frisco XL. Here’s how they line up.
| Spec | Modkat (Top-Entry) | Frisco Top Entry XL |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $109.99 | $30.99 |
| Outside size | 16 x 16 x 15 in | 23.2 x 15.4 x 15 in |
| Top opening | 9.5 in wide | 8.66 x 9.68 in |
| Weight | 6.5 lbs | Not listed |
| Lid | Removable swivel lid, holds 30 lbs | Swivel lid, holds 33 lbs |
| Liner | Type A reusable liner included | Not included, optional |
| Odor filter | Holder plus 2 filters | Not listed |
| Scoop | Hanging scoop included | Not listed |
| Cat size | Modkat says up to 12 lbs | No weight cap listed; reviews split above 15 lbs |
| Made in | Not stated on product page | USA (per Chewy) |
| Owner ratings | 2,254 reviews, 85% five-star (Modkat.com) | 4.3 of 5 from 1,640 ratings (Chewy) |
Read the size row first. Modkat’s own page says its top-entry box suits cats up to 12 lbs and may not work for large cats or cats that have trouble jumping. The Frisco is 7.2 inches longer. One Modkat owner says their 14 lb cat fits fine, while another returned it because a long cat found 15 inches of height cramped. If your cat is heavy or long, the Frisco gives you more room, and Modkat’s XL (front or top entry) is the step up inside the Modkat range.
Major Factors to Consider
Six things decide whether a litter box works in your home. Run through them before you compare prices.
Performance
Wall height and entry style do the containment work. Tall walls stop spray from cats that pee upward. A top entry stops kicked litter, because the cat has to climb out over a textured lid. If your cat sprays upward, wall height matters more than the lid.
Speed & Efficiency
Time the scoop. The Flip’s lid opens halfway. The Frisco’s lid swivels up. The Amazon Basics top comes off entirely. One extra step a day adds up to roughly 365 extra lid removals a year.
Price & Value
Count liners and scoops, not just the sticker. Over two years the Flip with liners runs about $190, against about $33 for the Frisco with a scoop (see the cost table below).
Build Quality
Check lid support and wall flex if your cat is heavy. The Flip lists a 24 lb lid capacity, the Modkat top-entry lists 30 lbs, and the Frisco lists 33 lbs, though some Frisco owners of heavy cats report the sides bowing.
Design & Aesthetics
If the box sits in a bathroom or hallway, looks count. The Modkat boxes are built to pass as furniture. The Frisco and Amazon Basics boxes read as plain plastic, which is fine in a laundry room.
Durability
Liners wear out every three months or when they fray, per Modkat. Plastic boxes without liners scratch over time, so wash them with warm soapy water on a schedule.
Cat Size & Age
Measure your cat from nose to base of tail. Chewy suggests a box about one and a half times that length. Top-entry boxes also ask for a jump of about 15 inches, which is hard on stiff joints. One veterinarian quoted by Vetstreet estimates that more than 60 percent of cats over age six have arthritis in at least one joint.
Dogs & Other Pets
Chewy says the Frisco’s top opening helps keep dogs out, and Modkat says its top-entry box keeps most dogs out. Vets and behaviorists commonly recommend one litter box per cat plus one spare, so a multi-cat home needs more than one box whichever you pick.
Quick Checklist: Which Litter Box Fits Your Cat?
Choose the Frisco Top Entry XL if
- ☐ Your cat weighs more than 12 lbs or is long-bodied
- ☐ Your cat digs and kicks litter across the room
- ☐ You want to spend about $31, not $100
- ☐ Your cat can jump about 15 inches
- ☐ You have a dog that raids the litter
Choose the Modkat Flip if
- ☐ Your cat pees upward or against the walls
- ☐ The box sits where guests can see it
- ☐ You scoop daily and hate scooping through a side opening
- ☐ You’re fine buying Modkat liners, or skipping liners
Choose the Modkat top-entry if
- ☐ Your cat is under 12 lbs
- ☐ You have a 16 x 16 inch spot and no more
- ☐ You want a liner, filters and scoop in the box
Choose the Amazon Basics top entry if
- ☐ You want a spare or guest-room box
- ☐ You’re testing whether your cat accepts top entry
- ☐ You want a scoop included and no refills to track
Skip top-entry boxes if
- ☐ Your cat is a senior with stiff or arthritic joints
- ☐ Your kitten is still learning to jump
- ☐ Your cat has refused enclosed boxes before
Feature Comparison
This table compares the Modkat Flip, the Frisco Top Entry XL and the Amazon Basics box feature by feature. If you’re leaning toward a lid on top, our covered litter box with top entry guide covers the wider field. “Not listed” means the maker’s page doesn’t say, not that the feature is missing.
| Feature | Modkat Flip | Frisco Top Entry XL | Amazon Basics Top Entry |
|---|---|---|---|
| Magnetic Lid System | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Lid Opens Without Full Removal | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ |
| Top Entry Design | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Reusable Liner System | ✓ | Optional, sold separately | ✗ |
| Scoop Included | ✓ | Not listed | ✓ |
| Odor Filters Included | ✓ | Not listed | Filtered lid listed; check type |
| BPA-Free Plastic | Not stated on Modkat page | ✓ | ✓ |
| One-Piece Seamless Base | ✓ | Not advertised | Not advertised |
| On-Board Scoop Storage | ✓ | Not listed | ✓ |
| Made in USA | Not stated | ✓ | Not stated |
Specifications Comparison
Measurements decide fit, both for your space and for your cat. Read the notes under the table, because makers don’t all measure the same way.
| Specification | Modkat Flip | Frisco Top Entry XL | Amazon Basics Top Entry |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $99.99 (Modkat.com) | $30.99 (Chewy) | Check Amazon |
| Outside Size | 20.5 x 15.75 x 16.8 in | 23.2 x 15.4 x 15 in | 20.5 x 14.75 x 14.38 in |
| Entry Opening | 8.25 x 9.5 in, 6.75 in step | 8.66 x 9.68 in top opening | Not listed |
| Weight | 7.0 lbs | Not listed | Approx 3 lbs |
| Lid Capacity | 24 lbs | 33 lbs | Not listed |
| Material | Plastic (polypropylene per retailer) | BPA-free, recyclable plastic | BPA-free, recyclable plastic |
| Entry Type | Front, flip lid | Top, swivel lid | Top, removable lid |
| Filters | Charcoal, 2 included | Not listed | Filtered lid listed |
| Scoop Included | Yes | Not listed | Yes |
| Liner Included | Yes (Type F) | No | No |
| Owner Ratings (Sept 2026) | 3,963 reviews, 87% five-star (Modkat.com) | 4.3 of 5, 1,640 ratings (Chewy) | See Amazon listing |
Modkat lists the Flip’s base at 17.5 x 13 inches. Chewy lists the Frisco’s interior base at 18.5 x 10.5 inches with 14.5 inches of interior height. Different methods, so measure your cat and your space instead of trusting a side-by-side.
What Each Box Costs Over Two Years
Liners turn a $100 box into a $190 one if you use them. Here’s the math, with prices as of September 21, 2026.
| Box | Upfront | Extras Over 2 Years | Two-Year Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Modkat Flip with liners | $99.99 | 7 liner swaps = three 3-packs, $89.97 | $189.96 |
| Modkat Flip, no liner | $99.99 | None (filters extra) | $99.99 |
| Modkat top-entry with liners | $109.99 | Three 3-packs, $89.97 | $199.96 |
| Frisco Top Entry XL | $30.99 | Scoop from $2.27 | About $33 |
| Amazon Basics Top Entry | Check Amazon | None (scoop included) | Price of the box |
Assumes one liner replaced every three months (Modkat’s stated maximum life, and one liner comes in the box) and 3-packs at $29.99. Modkat lists odor filter 2-packs at $11.99, and replacement timing depends on your home. Modkat says the Flip works without a liner.
🏆 Winner: Modkat Flip Covered Litter Box

Score Breakdown
Editorial scores based on manufacturer specs and owner-review patterns.
The Modkat Flip wins on scooping speed, spray containment and looks. The liner turns a messy job into a lift-and-rinse one, and the lid adapts to cats that dislike enclosure. The price is the catch: $99.99 up front, plus about $40 a year in liners if you use them. It’s the right box for a single-cat home where the box is on show. If you specifically want top entry, look at the Frisco instead.
Choose the Frisco Top Entry XL If…
You Want Top Entry on a Budget
At $30.99 it’s an inexpensive way to find out whether your cat accepts a top-entry box. Chewy lists free 365-day returns, so a refusal costs you very little.
Your Cat Is Bigger Than Average
At 23.2 inches long it gives a 12 to 15 lb cat more room than the Modkat top-entry does. Test the lid latch before you trust it with a cat over 16 lbs.
You Have a Digger or a Dog
Owners of diggers report much less litter on the floor, and Chewy says the top opening helps keep dogs out of the box.
You Don’t Want Liner Costs
There’s no liner system to buy into. You’ll need a scoop, and a litter mat helps catch what clings to paws.
Choose Amazon Basics Top Entry Box If…

You Need a Spare or Guest-Room Box
It’s light, plain and easy to store, and it comes with a scoop. It suits a second box in a small space.
You Want to Test Top Entry Cheaply
If you’re not sure your cat will accept climbing out over a lid, this is a low-risk way to find out before you spend $100 on a Modkat.
You Prefer No Refills
There are no liners to replace and no magnets to line up. Scoop, wash, repeat.
You Don’t Mind Removing the Lid
The top comes off completely to scoop. If that’s a daily annoyance you can live with, the price will feel fair.
Top-Entry Litter Boxes: Pros, Cons and Who Should Skip Them
Top entry solves one problem well: litter tracked across the floor. It creates two others, the jump in and the lid you have to lift. Weigh both.
✅ Advantages
❌ Disadvantages
Skip top entry for seniors and cats with joint pain. Modkat itself says its top-entry model may not suit cats that struggle to jump or are large. A low door does the same job for those cats, and our low-entry covered litter box guide covers options. Also worth knowing: Modkat says research suggests most cats don’t show a strong preference between covered and uncovered boxes. A clean, roomy, easy-to-reach box matters more than the lid.
How to Get Your Cat to Use a Top-Entry Litter Box
Most cats figure it out in a day or two. These steps follow Modkat’s setup advice plus what owners report.
- Put the new box where the old one sits. Don’t move the location and the box type on the same day.
- Fill it with 3 to 4 inches of litter (Modkat’s guidance for its top-entry box) and mix in a scoop of used litter from the old box so it smells familiar.
- Take the lid off for the first few days. Several owners did this, then put the lid back on after about a week.
- Keep the old box available until your cat uses the new one every time.
- If your cat still refuses after two weeks, stop pushing. Some adult cats won’t use top entry, and a return window (Chewy lists 365 days on the Frisco) is cheaper than a house full of accidents.
Cleaning and Maintenance
| Box | Daily | Deep Clean |
|---|---|---|
| Modkat Flip | Open the lid halfway and scoop | Lift out the liner, empty it, rinse with warm soapy water, and reuse. Modkat says to replace it after 3 months or when it frays. |
| Frisco Top Entry XL | Swivel the lid up and scoop | Wash with warm soapy water. Chewy suggests litter box wipes between washes. |
| Amazon Basics Top Entry | Lift off the top and scoop | Wash the plastic with warm soapy water and dry it before refilling. |
Modkat’s liner guidance says daily scooping and a litter depth of 2 to 3 inches help liners last longer, and that liner life depends on how many cats use the box and how hard they scratch.
🎯 Final Recommendation
Buy the Modkat Flip if you’ll scoop through the lid every day, care how the box looks, and can live with buying liners. Buy the Frisco XL if you want top entry at about $31, have a cat over 12 lbs, or just want to see whether your cat accepts a top-entry box without spending $100. Take the Modkat top-entry only for a cat under 12 lbs in a small space. Pick Amazon Basics for a spare. Whichever you choose, keep the old box out for a week and watch what your cat does.
Summary
- The Modkat Flip is a front-entry box with a magnetic three-position lid, a one-piece base and TabFit liners. It costs $99.99 and suits single-cat homes where looks and quick scooping matter.
- The Frisco Top Entry XL is a true top-entry box at $30.99. It’s 23.2 inches long, made in the USA per Chewy, and has no liner, filter or scoop listed. Bigger cats get more room in it than in Modkat’s top-entry model.
- Modkat’s original top-entry box is $109.99 and best for cats up to 12 lbs, so it’s the fairer match against the Frisco than the Flip is.
- Over two years the Flip with liners costs about $190. The Frisco with a scoop costs about $33. Modkat says the Flip works without a liner if you’d rather skip that cost.
- The Amazon Basics box includes a scoop and lists a filtered lid, though it doesn’t say what the filter is. The top comes off completely to scoop.
- Skip any top-entry design for seniors with stiff joints, and expect some adult cats to refuse it.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is better overall, Modkat or Frisco?
The Modkat Flip is the better box: faster to scoop, better at holding in spray, and better looking. The Frisco Top Entry XL is the better buy if you specifically want top entry, have a cat over 12 lbs, or want to spend about $31 instead of $100.
Is the Modkat Flip a top entry litter box?
No. The Flip has a front entry with a 6.75-inch step. Its lid opens on top for scooping, which is why people mix it up with top-entry designs. Modkat’s top-entry models are the original Modkat and the Modkat XL, which offers front or top entry.
Modkat vs Frisco top entry: which is better for large cats?
The Frisco XL. It’s 23.2 inches long against 16 inches for the Modkat top-entry, and Modkat says its top-entry box suits cats up to 12 lbs. Owner reports on the Frisco with heavy cats are mixed on lid flex, so latch it properly. For a cat over 15 lbs, Modkat’s XL is worth a look.
Is the price difference worth it?
It’s worth it if you’ll use the liner, like the lid, and want the box on show. Over two years the Flip with liners runs about $190, against about $33 for the Frisco with a scoop. Skip the liner and the gap narrows to roughly $67.
Which has better build quality?
The Modkat Flip has the tighter build, with a one-piece base and a lid rated to 24 lbs. The Frisco’s lid is rated to 33 lbs, but some owners of heavier cats report the sides bowing. The Amazon Basics box is basic plastic with no published lid rating.
Which is better for beginners?
The Frisco or the Amazon Basics box. There are no liners or magnetic lids to learn, and Chewy lists free 365-day returns on the Frisco if your cat refuses top entry.
Which offers better value for money?
The Frisco Top Entry XL offers better value if your only goal is a cheaper top-entry box. The Modkat Flip offers better value if you’d otherwise buy a second, nicer box within a year because the first one annoyed you.
What are the main differences?
Entry style, price and system. The Flip is front entry with a lid, liner and filters at $99.99. The Frisco and Amazon Basics are top entry with simple plastic lids. The Frisco is the longest at 23.2 inches. Only the Amazon Basics box lists a scoop and a filtered lid together, and only the Flip has a magnetic lid.
Does the Modkat Flip need a liner, and can I use generic ones?
It doesn’t need one. Modkat says the Flip works without a liner. Modkat also says third-party liners aren’t designed for the current TabFit attachment system, so its Type F liners are the official fit. A 3-pack is $29.99.
How often should I replace Modkat liners?
Modkat says each liner lasts up to three months, and to replace it sooner if it frays. Life depends on how many cats use the box and how hard they scratch, and daily scooping helps.
Are top-entry litter boxes good for senior cats or kittens?
Usually not. Top-entry boxes ask for a jump of about 15 inches. One veterinarian quoted by Vetstreet estimates that more than 60 percent of cats over age six have arthritis in at least one joint. For those cats, a low entry is kinder. Very young kittens still learning to jump can struggle too.
Will a top-entry litter box keep my dog out?
Chewy says the Frisco’s top opening helps keep dogs out, and Modkat says its top-entry box keeps most dogs out. One Modkat reviewer says their medium-sized dog can’t reach the litter. A small, determined dog may still get in.
What size litter box does my cat need?
Chewy’s rule of thumb is a box about one and a half times your cat’s length, nose to base of tail. For a top-entry box, also check interior height, since your cat needs to turn around, dig and climb out.
Do cats prefer covered or open litter boxes?
Modkat says research suggests most cats show no strong preference. A clean, roomy, easy-to-reach box matters more. If your cat dislikes being enclosed, the Flip’s lid can stay half open or come off.
Does the Frisco Top Entry come with a scoop or liner?
Chewy’s listing doesn’t mention a scoop, and it says liners are not included and not required. Plan on buying a scoop.
Sources and How This Was Checked
Specs, prices and ratings on this page were checked on September 21, 2026 against the manufacturer or retailer pages listed here. Owner quotes are paraphrased from public reviews. Prices and ratings change, so treat the numbers as a snapshot.
- Modkat Flip product page (dimensions, lid capacity, price, FAQ)
- Modkat top-entry product page (dimensions, cat size guidance, price)
- Frisco Top Entry XL on Chewy (dimensions, features, price, Q&A, ratings)
- Amazon Basics Top Entry listing (dimensions, features)
- Modkat Type F liners (liner life, TabFit compatibility, price)
Written by Mishu
A passionate cat lover and indoor living enthusiast, Mishu is the founder and voice behind Indoor Living Cat – a go-to resource for cat owners who want to create the happiest, healthiest life for their feline companions indoors.
View Full Profile